Jump to content



Welcome to KnowledgeSutra - Dear Guest , Please Register here to get Your own website. - Ask a Question / Express Opinion / Reply w/o Sign-Up!
- - - - -

Google Told Me I Had A Virus...


17 replies to this topic

#1 moldboy

    Privileged Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Location:Canada Eh?!?

Posted 24 November 2005 - 04:24 PM

I was at school and got this message...
Posted Image
It's only ever happened at school, and only on google print, Odd.

#2 assafassaf

    Member [Level 2]

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 76 posts
  • Location:Israel

Posted 24 November 2005 - 04:37 PM

I didn't really understand what's written there, but I'm sure that was just a joke.

#3 serverph

    Ancient Enigma

  • [MODERATOR]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,952 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:under the stars
  • Interests:http://kapamilyatalk.com<br />http://scq.serverph.uni.cc<br />http://reseller.premium.ws<br /><br />trap17 IP to access cpanel: https://64.69.46.210:2083/<br />alternative to access cpanel: gamma.xisto.com/~cpanelusername<br />Get your T17 banners here: http://www.trap17.com/banners/<br />TRAP17 Forum Search plugin: http://plugins.astahost.com/<br /><br />[url=http://reseller.premium.ws][img]http://img40.echo.cx/img40/2713/resellerfree4rd.png[/img][/url] |
  • myCENT:67.66

Posted 24 November 2005 - 05:49 PM

moldboy, on Nov 25 2005, 12:24 AM, said:

I was at school and got this message...
Posted Image
It's only ever happened at school, and only on google print, Odd.

View Post


you should advise your school administrators about that, just to be on the safe side. PCs in a network environment are particularly prone to such problems. let them figure out what's really wrong. B)

#4 ameribass

    Super Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 264 posts

Posted 24 November 2005 - 06:39 PM

Very interesting. It may be a possibility that the computers at your school have been requesting such a vast amount of information that it set off a red flag on google's servers. Since they want to protect their bandwidth and all, they probably put a temporary block on your school's ip address and tell the user that it is a virus or spyware as most people wouldn't understand the concept of bandwidth and all other important things that are associated with running and maintaining a website of such rank as google.

#5 moldboy

    Privileged Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Location:Canada Eh?!?

Posted 24 November 2005 - 06:52 PM

Quote

I didn't really understand what's written there, but I'm sure that was just a joke.
I doubt that, google has made a lot of jokes in the past (G.C.H.E.E.S.E, Google Gupl, Pigion Rank to name just a few) but I doubt that they would joke about spyware/virus.

Quote

It may be a possibility that the computers at your school have been requesting such a vast amount of information that it set off a red flag on google's servers
Now that's what I thought, but it only ever happens when I tried google print, that is print.google.ca, and when I tried print.google.com I got a simmilar error except without the enter the following word thing. But our school has less then 120 students, and our division (same IP address I believe) has less then 2000 people.

#6 DreamCore

    Premium Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 199 posts

Posted 24 November 2005 - 07:01 PM

Well thats an wierd message, I think that its a joke too. But anyway try to show that to your school administrator. And its first time I see that google gives out virus messages. Are you sure that you are viewing the real google. Beacuse the real google site is google.com
And to be more sure, try to see if it is only on yours computer and not enybody elses.

Hope that you can fix that problem, wich I think you will do ofcourse. B)

#7 moldboy

    Privileged Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 516 posts
  • Location:Canada Eh?!?

Posted 24 November 2005 - 08:58 PM

yes the real google site is google.com and print.google.com is a real subdomain of google.com that just so happens is now redirected to book.google.com or books.google.com, I can't remember.

#8 Razor

    Premium Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 177 posts
  • Location:Scotland

Posted 24 November 2005 - 09:11 PM

Lol thats quite funny, i wouldnt say it would be a joke..cus im sure google have registered almost every major domain thing there is...
but its not a surprise your school computers could have spyware....the computers in my school always had spyware in them , and they were so insecure..you could delete the whole school network through microsoft frontpage..B)

#9 therequiemgirls

    Newbie

  • Kontributors
  • Pip
  • 5 posts

Posted 30 November 2005 - 02:38 AM

Razor, on Nov 24 2005, 04:11 PM, said:

Lol thats quite funny, i wouldnt say it would be a joke..cus im sure google have registered almost every major domain thing there is...
but its not a surprise your school computers could have spyware....the computers in my school always had spyware in them , and they were so insecure..you could delete the whole school network through microsoft frontpage..:P

View Post



hmm i think it might have been a joke.


or not. =/ check with your school to get a virus detecter

#10 pacslim

    Newbie [Level 1]

  • Kontributors
  • Pip
  • 11 posts

Posted 03 December 2005 - 12:25 AM

I had precisely the same, so it's no joke.
It's something google shows when like they say suspect ur connection to submit alotta data at once 2 google this could be spy ware or and ad ware use a scanner to remove it google does this to congirm ur a human no machine and ask u to retype a code its true really not joke !




Reply to this topic


This post will need approval from a moderator before this post is shown.

  


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users