Jump to content



Welcome to KnowledgeSutra - Dear Guest , Please Register here to get Your own website. - Ask a Question / Express Opinion / Reply w/o Sign-Up!
- - - - -

Is It True Or Hoax Gmail Service Shutting Down?


26 replies to this topic

#1 brainet

    Newbie [Level 2]

  • Kontributors
  • PipPip
  • 39 posts

Posted 27 February 2006 - 01:32 AM

i Just Got this email From "Donotreply@gmail.com"


Quote

Hello,

Your Email address is : XXXX@gmail.com

We are going to shut down our services as of MARCH 1 st but we can be running if you do use a favor and go here

http://searxx.revenuexxx.com/servlet/searc...keyword=finance

And Click on all The Links
Once a 1000 Links have Been Clicked on we will continue our Excellent service
Thanks,
Your Email Provider
Notice from jlhaslip:
quote tags should be used here, please
Notice from BH:
Topic title changed.


is it true or HOAX?

Edited by BuffaloHELP, 27 February 2006 - 08:37 AM.


#2 michaelper22

    -=Hybrid Bus=-

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 742 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:My hybrid bus (in NYC), a computer
  • Interests:Not interested in anything
  • Spam Patrol

Posted 27 February 2006 - 01:36 AM

HOAX. Do you really think that Gmail would do such a thing? I mean, do you think that Google of all people would ask you to click 1000 links? Not considering the fact that the link doesn't work.

Edited by michaelper22, 27 February 2006 - 01:37 AM.


#3 jlhaslip

    Insert Custom Title Here

  • [MODERATOR]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,040 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling
  • Location:Linux, DOS and Windows…the good, the bad and the ugly
  • myCENT:81.07
  • Spam Patrol

Posted 27 February 2006 - 01:56 AM

It has HOAX written all over it.

To begin with, gmail has your name, so why wouldn't they personalize it? It is a scam to get you to click 1000 links to generate traffic is all.

#4 bladeron

    Member [Level 1]

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 66 posts
  • Location:mumbai, india
  • Interests:chess

Posted 27 February 2006 - 02:17 AM

lol, i got such mails from google and similar ones from microsoft.com too

and everyone knows that microsoft does mail anyone and so its gotta be a hoax and i think similar is the case with google
so dont get worried by these, they just belong to the spam folder

#5 Paul

    Premium Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 174 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • myCENT:ZERO

Posted 27 February 2006 - 02:33 AM

View Postbladeron, on Feb 26 2006, 09:17 PM, said:

lol, i got such mails from google and similar ones from microsoft.com too

and everyone knows that microsoft does mail anyone and so its gotta be a hoax and i think similar is the case with google
so dont get worried by these, they just belong to the spam folder

:lol: D-uh! THIS IS A HOAX buddy, just ignore this kinda junk, Gmail usually filters this stuff out :P

#6 wild20

    Never alone with Christ

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 647 posts

Posted 27 February 2006 - 04:39 AM

Oh yeah. Hoax is stamped all over it. Stamped with spam left, right, up, and down. :lol: Just delete it. It is an easy way to get traffic. A lot of people will click. Maybe there is also a Trojan or Malware too. I would stay away from it and contact Gmail and google right away. they need to delete this email right away. If I owned google, I would weed out these emails. Make it so that email address like noreply and admin couldn't be created.

#7 Saint_Michael

    $p4m 0n j00 $h4m3 m3 0nc3 $p4m 0n m3 $h4m3 m3 7\/\/1c3

  • [MODERATOR]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 7,459 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:9r33|\| 399$ 4|\|D 5P4/\/\
  • Interests:$p4m 0n j00 $h4m3 m3 0nc3 $p4m 0n m3 $h4m3 m3 7\/\/1c3
  • myCENT:71.24

Posted 27 February 2006 - 05:12 AM

but you have to think about the humours side of this someone was able to make that email account and acctually use it.

but yeah only a computer illerate would fal lfor that.

#8 inyourarms

    Advanced Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 119 posts

Posted 27 February 2006 - 07:01 PM

That's so stupid.. You got me worried for a second there lol. But I agree with what the others have said, that's kinda stupid.

#9 electriic ink

    "Britons never never shall be slaves." As true now as it was in 1740.

  • [MODERATOR]
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,262 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Heaven
  • Interests:Promotion: Aug 4 2005 8.24pm BST
  • myCENT:74.43

Posted 27 February 2006 - 07:27 PM

Hoax. Google would never refer to themselves as Your Email Provider, have such shoddy grammar and spelling and write their letters in an informal style.

Remember, google's a multi-billion dollar industry and if they did want money, they wouldn't do it through gmail emails.

#10 OCAC

    Advanced Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 109 posts

Posted 27 February 2006 - 07:46 PM

Definitely a hoax, have a look at the link, they just want to tempt you to go there. all these emails are just spam.




Reply to this topic


This post will need approval from a moderator before this post is shown.

  


1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users