Jump to content



Welcome to KnowledgeSutra - Dear Guest , Please Register here to get Your own website. - Ask a Question / Express Opinion / Reply w/o Sign-Up!
- - - - -

Fraudulent Emails Sent -=your Hosting Is Suspended=- "this Is Spam" And Not From Admins At Trap.


27 replies to this topic

#1 EricDrinkard

    **removed link**

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 179 posts
  • Location:I Don't Know

Posted 21 March 2005 - 04:55 AM

Some one or some thing is sending out emails to the cpanel users of trap17.com stating that their account is suspended. The email looks legit, however your hosting credits and site are all ok. If you are having this problem please reply and state the situation.

(please do not reply if your hosting credits are not positive)



Thanks
Eric Drinkard

#2 Amezis

    Privileged Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Location:Oslo, Norway

Posted 25 March 2005 - 02:54 PM

A quote from the email i received some hours ago:

Quote

Hello Amezis,

We are sorry to inform you that, your web hosting account at has been suspended due to your prolonged inactivity or Lack of Hosting credits. We had dispatched a warning email to all the members so that they could check their hosting credits.
[...]
If you want to un-suspend your hosting account, you will have to make posts at our forums and collect the required number of hosting credits. Once you have sufficient amount of credits, your account will be un-suspended automatically.
[...]

Then, I firstly checked my site. It was working well... Then I checked my hosting credits: 15.12 days...

So... What's happening?

If I'm breaking the TOS or something like that, please say it to me... But I don't think I'm doing that :)

#3 NilsC

    Administrator

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 377 posts
  • Location:USA

Posted 25 March 2005 - 04:00 PM

It's a spam email that seem to come from a comptetitor. I have asked every member that receive one this emails to extract the header files so I can report them. If you still have the email and know how to extract it. please do so and PM or email the data to me.

Nils

#4 Florisjuh

    Proud to be hosted

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 992 posts
  • Location:NL

Posted 25 March 2005 - 04:01 PM

Dont worry, its another spam email. Your hosting accaunt is safe and not suspended

#5 talbotda13

    Member [Level 2]

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 82 posts

Posted 25 March 2005 - 06:35 PM

I have gotten several of those emails and i only kept one. i looked at my hosting credits here. ive been to mywebsite and everything so i just figured it was a non-sense spam email

#6 guangdian

    Trap Grand Marshal Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,187 posts
  • Interests:Nothing

Posted 26 March 2005 - 02:14 AM

It's a spam email that seem to come from a comptetitor.

The comptetior plays a role of hacker over & over again.I hope you should keep the server must safer! coz their highest achiver is to hack into your server & delete all they saw....

#7 Amezis

    Privileged Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 535 posts
  • Location:Oslo, Norway

Posted 26 March 2005 - 03:11 PM

Ok, ok, thanks for the info. But the e-mail is hidden. <administrator@> is everything I get in "from:"....

#8 Becca

    Princess

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,234 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:England
  • Interests:Into graphics, html/css, sports and music. I listen to metal, hard rock, r&amp;b mainly but I like anything.

Posted 26 March 2005 - 03:15 PM

:) MAn that is soo cruel. Who would do such... the internet world is so dangerous and e e e e VIL.
Did it say it was from trap17.com ??

#9 Galahad

    Neurotical Squirrel

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 590 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Novi Sad, Vojvodina
  • Interests:Programming, Hardcore dance/Trance/House music. Girls, girls and more girls ;) ... In short, everything youg people like, I like :D Oh yeah, and dont't forget politics :)
  • myCENT:48.25

Posted 26 March 2005 - 03:21 PM

Well, I received a certain e-mail from "Management <administrator>", and I forwarded it to Trap 17 abuse email.

Here are full headers from that e-mail...
X-Apparently-To: =my_email=@yahoo.com via 216.155.196.65; Thu, 17 Mar 2005 00:05:54 -0800
Authentication-Results: mta140.mail.dcn.yahoo.com
  from=; domainkeys=neutral (no sig)
X-Originating-IP: [69.50.187.114]
Return-Path: <trap17@dasher.psychz.net>
Received: from 69.50.187.114  (EHLO dasher.psychz.net) (69.50.187.114)
  by mta140.mail.dcn.yahoo.com with SMTP; Thu, 17 Mar 2005 00:05:38 -0800
Received: from trap17 by dasher.psychz.net with local (Exim 4.44)
        id 1DBpvF-0001LX-DW; Thu, 17 Mar 2005 00:00:01 -0800
To: =my_email=@yahoo.com
Subject:  : HOSTING ACCOUNT SUSPENDED.
MIME-Version: 1.0
Content-type: text/html; charset=iso-8859-1
To:=my_email=@yahoo.com
From:  Management <administrator@>
Date: Thu, 17 Mar 2005 00:00:01 -0800
X-AntiAbuse: This header was added to track abuse, please include it with any abuse report
X-AntiAbuse: Primary Hostname - dasher.psychz.net
X-AntiAbuse: Original Domain - yahoo.com
X-AntiAbuse: Originator/Caller UID/GID - [32257 32258] / [47 12]
X-AntiAbuse: Sender Address Domain - dasher.psychz.net
X-Source: 
X-Source-Args: 
X-Source-Dir: 
Content-Length: 849

Now, I dont think that Trap 17 admins have administrator@ email... Nor that they would send account suspension notices from administrators e-mail... I could be wrong though...

However, trap17@dasher.psychz.net is definitely a suspicious e-mail address, for someone like Trap 17 to use :) I mean, they provide web hosting, paid AND free, would they use some weird mail server, or just use something@trap17.com? Hope they catch this lamer B)

#10 mahesh2k

    Trap Double Mocha Member

  • Kontributors
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,347 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Valley of Darkness
  • myCENT:27.17
  • Spam Patrol

Posted 26 March 2005 - 04:35 PM

oh my god that is spam but who the hell can do this do you able to trace the domain name of email sender?





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users